Arrow

Shoe Finder

Toggle Nav

GEL-KAYANO 28

In stock

Men's Running Shoes

STYLE #: 1011B189.002

As low as $300.00
GEL-KAYANO 28 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 63.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_26, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_56
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_1011B189-002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_asics-en_au
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 256.7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
or 4 payments of $75.00 Learn more
Width: Standard - D
Size Guide Width Guide
Size Guide
Width Guide
All shoe sizes listed on the website are in US sizes.
Performance Shoe Size Guide*
Men's Sizes                                  
US 4 4.5 5 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12
UK 3 3.5 4 4.5 5 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5 11
EU 36 37 37.5 38 39 39.5 40 40.5 41.5 42 42.5 43.5 44 44.5 45 46 46.5
CM 22.5 23 23.5 24 24.5 25   25.5 26 26.5 27 27.5 28   28.5 29 29.5
Women's Sizes                                  
US 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12      
UK 3.5 4 4.5 5 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10      
EU 36 37 37.5 38 39 39.5 40 40.5 41.5 42 42.5 43.5 44 44.5 45 46 46.5
CM 22.5 23 23.5 24 24.5 25   25.5 26 26.5 27 27.5 28   28.5 29 29.5
Youth Sizes                                  
US K10 K11 K12 K13 1 1.5 2 2.5 3 3.5 4 4.5 5 5.5 6 6.5 7
EU 27 28.5 30 31.5 32.5 33 33.5 34.5 35 35.5 36 37 37.5 38 39 39.5 40
CM 17 17.5 18.5 19.5 20 20.5 21 21.5 22   22.5 23 23.5 24 24.5 25  
Note:
Toddler (TS): Sizes K4-K9
Pre-School (PS): Sizes K10 - 3
Grade School (GS): Sizes 1-7

*All performance styles INCLUDING all Gel-Quantum Infinity, Gel-Quantum 90, Gel-Qunatum 180, Gel-Quantum 360 and Gel-Kinsei OG styles. See Sportstyle Size Guide below for remaining Sportstyle range.


Sportstyle Shoe Size Guide

All Sportstyle styles EXCLUDING all Gel-Quantum Infinity, Gel-Quantum 90, Gel-Qunatum 180, Gel-Quantum 360 and Gel-Kinsei OG styles.

SPORTSTYLE ADULT SHOES
US Men's/Unisex   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13 14
US Women's 5 5.5 6 6.5 7 7.5 8 8.5 9 9.5 10 10.5 11 11.5 12 12.5 13 13.5 14 14.5 15
Euro 35.5 36 37 37.5 38 39 39.5 40 40.5 41.5 42 42.5 43.5 44 44.5 45 46 46.5 47 48 49
CM 22.5 22.8 23 23.5 24 24.5 25 25.3 25.5 26 26.5 27 27.5 28 28.3 28.5 29 29.5 30 30.5 31
Sportstyle Kids Shoes
US 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
EURO 32.5 33.5 35 36 37.5 39 40
CM 20 21 22 22.5 23.5 24.5 25.25

The standard (medium) width for women is B, while the standard width for men is D. Shoe boxes and labels will only identify widths other than standard. Within the shoes, wide and narrow widths are identified on the label, underneath the tongue — ie. T005N(2E).

When is additional width needed?
Visible stretching or bulging on the outsides of forefoot materials is a good indicator that additional width may be needed. These sizes are available in many of our Running and Training shoes. In some cases, men can wear women’s styles to achieve a narrow fit and women can wear men’s to get a wide. If this is needed, please use the references above to determine comparable size lengths. Please note that the differences of width between narrow, standard, wide, and extra wide are usually only a couple millimeters and are proportional to the size of the shoe. Most additional width will be found in the forefoot.

Men/Kids   Women
  2A Narrow
Narrow B Standard
Standard D Wide
Wide 2E Extra Wide
Extra Wide 4E  
Availability: Select Size
Availability: In stock
  • Free 2 day shipping & free returns on all orders
  • Click & Collect from ASICS Commercial Bay, Auckland

Need help? Click here to contact us

GEL-KAYANO 28

Men's Running Shoes

STYLE #: 1011B189.002

As low as $300.00
or 4 payments of $75.00 Learn more

Product Details

The GEL-KAYANO™ 28 shoe creates a stable stride that moves you towards a balanced mindset. Featuring a lower-profile external heel counter, this piece cradles your foot with improved rearfoot support.

To improve stability and responsiveness, we added FF BLAST™ cushioning to the midsole. It provides a smooth and supportive feel in each step. The trainer's new GEL™ technology shape delivers a smooth stride, allowing you to experience a softer landing without losing speed.



Width: D standard - STANDARD

For men the standard shoe width is D, going up to a wide fitting 2E and the widest a 4E. In New Zealand the most common shoe width size* for men is a 2E. Find out more about widths.

Specs

Surface

Road

Heel drop

10MM

Weight

309g

Support

Stability

Cushion

Maximum

pronation

Pronation is part of the natural movement of the human body and refers to the way your foot rolls inward for impact distribution upon landing. Understanding your pronation type can help you find a comfortable running shoe. The GEL-KAYANO 28 is made for Overpronation.

Under
Neutral
Over
Severe Over

Overpronation

Foot Type

Low arches or flat feet

PUSH OFF

Big toe and second toe do majority of the work.

HOW YOUR FOOT CONTACTS THE GROUND

The foot lands on outside of heel, then rolls inward (pronates) excessively, transferring weight to inner edge instead of ball of the foot.

Product Features

Dynamic Duomax Support System

This evolution of DuoMax system enhances stability and support, with reduced weight and increased platform comfort.

Engineered Mesh

A technical mesh material that stretches in multiple directions, creating a glove, snug like fit that provides a unique balance of comfort and fit.

External Heel Clutch

Improves fit between the shoe and the heel by restricting displacement. This “clutching” action enhances stability and performance.

Flytefoam Blast Midsole

Lightweight, midsole foam with energetic and highly responsive cushioning and bounce for an efficient ride.

Flytefoam Bottom Layer Midsole

Located on the bottom layer of the midsole, its organic fibres bounce back into its original shape in the space of each stride to provide perfect cushioning and cushioning from the start of your run to the finish.

Flytefoam Propel Top Layer

Combining a lightweight foam formulation with a high-energy return elastomer for increased bounce and unrivaled toe-off to give you a better performance out of every stride. Located closer to the foot to give that added comfort level.

Flytefoam Technology

Our lightest midsole ever. Its organic fibres bounce back into its original shape in the space of each stride to provide perfect cushioning from the start of your run to the finish.

Gender Specific Trusstic

Specifically designed trusstic system to cater to the differences in male and female biomechanics

3D Space Construction

This technology is implemented through a series of strategically planted pillars within the midsole, allowing runners to experience more compression in a specific area without reducing durability or stability. These pillar formations are tuned differently in the men's and women's models to address each gender's biomechanical data

Product Feature Image

Rated 5 out of 5 by Aaaagg from Amazing for probated feet I bought these as a gift for my dad and he said they are amazing. He gets sore feet and knee pain with long periods of walking, but these shoes were a game changer.
Date published: 2021-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by thedamianbox from 28s are amazing I am an everyday runner. I have bought more that 20 pairs of kayanos. These are easily the best.
Date published: 2021-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suraj from The best of the Kayanos I have had several Kayanos in the past but this one is by far the best. The colour choices are incredible, the shoe fits well and the heel to toe angle gives more comfort. I have 3 pairs already of the new season colours.
Date published: 2021-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by Red man from Bad shoes I have never had problems with my feet until I start running with these shoes they have caused me problems since the day I’ve got them
Date published: 2021-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sabba from Asics Gel Kayana Bought new model 4 weeks ago and happy I did- better than 27 model
Date published: 2021-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Matty BZ from Kayano 28 Love this new version! So much better than the 27’s! Very comfortable! Very pleased and love the new colour!
Date published: 2021-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ray1 from Best shoe I've ever owned Great shoe. It is super comfortable and supportive. It feels like my I'm running on clouds.
Date published: 2021-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mark Wheatley from Smart investment [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Iv worn Nike running trainers for 10 years and what a mistake iv made i purchased these Asics Gel-Kayano 28 and i cant praise them enough it feels like im running with pillows on my feet as i dont feel the thud of the road and its so refreshing as i usually have knee/back issues which has seemed to have eased of late,the style and colour range are excellent also cant praise Asics enough you pay for what you get and these are definitely a smart investment.
Date published: 2021-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mike P from Very Happy with the upgrade Bought these recently after running in 26’s and had read some average reviews. They seem slightly lighter and a touch shallower than the 26’s but I love them. The back of the shoe is a touch lower which I find even more comfortable. Highly recommend
Date published: 2021-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big daddy from So Comfy Best runners I have ever worn. Ridiculously comfy and perfect for those long runs
Date published: 2021-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lex72 from Great features I brought this two weeks ago love it very comfortable
Date published: 2021-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gazzamac from Great shoes Had many pairs over the years. Always been very good
Date published: 2021-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Đạt Tran from Great shoes I just bought this shoes for work , it is so comfortable
Date published: 2021-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freedom from Awesomeeeeeeeee I bought these 2 weeks ago and they are amazing. Love the comfort when I’m HIIT training, or running. I feel like there’s so much more support in the runner in the 28’s. Please don’t change them best keyano’s I’ve worn and I’ve been wearing ASICS for over 20 years now. BEST ONES YET. My whole family from my kids, to brothers, nephews, etc are all of these now.
Date published: 2021-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cicinn from ASICS Men’s Gel Kayano 28 Gel Kayano 28 is the best sports shoe I’ve ever experienced so far, it’s of superior build quality and expertise.It’s Amazing for my feet and helps with supination/pronation reasons.
Date published: 2021-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whitney89 from Great support !! I brought these for Father’s Day for my partner and he is a size 16-17 the support for him was amazing !! No complaints and he cannot wait to purchase another pair !
Date published: 2021-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fadii117 from The Top Shoe [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Easily the best of the Asics production house. Made for your long-distance runs.
Date published: 2021-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bernie N from So comfortable! Recently upgraded my old pair of Kayano’s and couldn’t believe how much more comfortable these new ones are! So light and great tread too.
Date published: 2021-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cam35 from Faulty toe A crease in the front of the shoe digs into my toe , very uncomfortable
Date published: 2021-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buddy Jase from Great shoes I will only buy ASICS shoes they are the most comfortable shoes I have ever used.
Date published: 2021-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by Martinaso from ASICS are not what they used to be. I have been buying Asics and only the Kayano top of the range now for years. But past two years i have been disappointed at the quality doesn't seem to be the same they don't last and the insoles seem to whear out aftwr 3 months.
Date published: 2021-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by JacquesSYD from Make me want to run Really comfortable, light and great to run in. Previously had the Kayano 26 which was a good shoe, but the new 28 is even better. Very please with the new ‘wheels.
Date published: 2021-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old dude from Great running shoe! I have purchased ASICS running shoes before and was confident buying again online. These are great running shoes that I would recommend. I'm currently jogging up to 10km with my 10 year old son who also recommends ASICS!
Date published: 2021-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Antonio2021 from Great buy I've run 24 ks in them already, love the comfort and sponge feeling on every stride. Thank you for a great running shoe !!
Date published: 2021-09-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trajkovski275 from Much worse than the Kayano 27 I bought two pairs recently one for me and my dad, and we both are having pain in our ankles and burning on the bottom of our feet, we have both owned kayano 27s and metarund and these are horrible in comparison. I will be looking into a refund for these.
Date published: 2021-08-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by Iggy from Sole peeled after a week! Avoid! Bring back the 27 [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The grippy parts of the sole are so badly stuck on, they peeled away after a week or so. (Worn for work purposes an an NHS hospital in London - no running). Thought these would be as comfy (they are) and rugged as the Kayano 27s - not a chance! I’ve gotten through three pairs of 27s in the last few years and even after daily abuse they refuse to fall apart. Well done ASICS for refunding me though - customer service was excellent.
Date published: 2021-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jamesssssss from Really comfortable [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Fab definitely well made. Look good too. Really comfortable
Date published: 2021-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why nickname difficult from Best yet I’ve bought 2 pairs of the Kayano 28 Best shoe ever. Great support comfort and look
Date published: 2021-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Drew19 from Improved once again Very happy with this product once again. Great level of comfort and support. Makes my running a joy
Date published: 2021-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lino G from Best overpronator shoes i have used. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Best support shoes i ever had, i had done just over 100 km with them and i have not feel any issues after each run. Durability seems alright but would have to do more km to see. When you put them on, your feets feel very supportive with all around Cushion.
Date published: 2021-08-27
  • y_2021, m_10, d_26, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_56
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_1011B189-002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_asics-en_au
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.1ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
© 2021 ASICS New Zealand. All Rights Reserved.